To keep protected information secure, after a password is reset on a local user account, some types of information are no longer accessible, including the following:
E-mail that is encrypted with the user's public key
Internet passwords that are saved on the computer
Files that the user has encrypted
If you want to avoid this type of data loss, do not reset a user's password. When you create a new local user account, have the user create a password reset disk. Then, if the user forgets the password, the password reset disk can be used to reset the password without data loss. If a user forgets the password to a domain user account, the password must be reset manually.
For more information about what you should know before you reset a password, search Help and Support for the topic "What are the risks of resetting a password?"